Call for Entries: Again: Reflections and Photography, Vermont PhotoPlace

DEADLINE: Midnight, Monday September 19, 2011

Juror: Sylvia de Swaan

One of the most fascinating aspect of optics is the phenomenon of reflection. Light bouncing off of water, mirrors, bright surfaces creates a simulacrum of the object reflected. For this exhibition, we seek photographs of reflection. Any surface, any subject, any style. Surprise us with your reflected imagery.

PhotoPlace Gallery is honored that Sylvia de Swaan will serve as the juror for the exhibition “Again: Reflections and Photography.” For this exhibition Sylvia will choose forty photographs featuring trees in any form for exhibition at PhotoPlace Gallery from November 8th through December 3rd. She will also choose an additional thirty-five photos for the gallery’s “On-Line Annex.” All selected work will be included in a full-color exhibition catalogue available for purchase. To help artists defray costs, PhotoPlace Gallery offers to mat and frame work selected for exhibition free of charge, providing artists print their images to our pre-cut mat and frame sizes. Submission fee: $25 for five photos, $6 each additional photo.

Sylvia de Swaan is a Romanian born photographer who has lived and worked in Mexico, Europe and the United States. She engages in long term exploratory projects that are informed by themes transience, loss, and individual, collective memory and.She has been awarded grants and fellowships from numerous organizations, among them, The Aaron Siskind Foundation, CEC/ArtsLink , Light Work, Bemis Center for Contemporary Art; Austrian Ministry of Culture, Anderson Ranch Art Center, and the New York Foundation for the Arts.

Along with her personal practice Sylvia has had a multitude of involvements in the arts – among them, as long-term director of an international studio program; a visiting instructor at the University of Mexico and Hamilton College; independent curator; art consultant and panelist for the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York State Council on the Arts and Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation.